How to Apply For Commonwealth Scholarships For Developing Countries: Eligibility and Requirements

How to Apply For Commonwealth Scholarships For Developing Countries: Eligibility and Requirements

 Commonwealth Scholarships For Developing Countries

Commonwealth Scholarships are for candidates from low and middle-income Commonwealth countries, for full-time Master’s study at a UK university. The scholarships are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID). These scholarships aim at creating the opportunity for talented and enthusiastic individuals to acquire the necessary and required skills for sustainable growth. Through the creation of these opportunities, students have no means of affording an education in the UK are being helped. Scholarships are available for pursuing Master’s, Ph.D. and split-site (Ph.D.) degree program at UK Universities. These scholarships are offered under six themes:

  1. Science and technology for development
  2. Promoting global prosperity
  3. Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  4. Strengthening health systems and capacity
  5. Strengthening global peace, security, and governance
  6. Access, inclusion, and opportunity

Eligibility For The Commonwealth Scholarships For Developing Countries

To apply for these scholarships, you must:
• Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person.

• Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country

• Be available to start your academic studies in the UK at the start of the UK academic year.

• Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honors standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)

• Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship


 List of Commonwealth Countries

Below is the list of commonwealth countries in alphabetic order.



Anguilla, Antigua


Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana,


Cameroon, Cayman Islands,




Falkland Islands, Fiji,


Ghana , Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana,






Kenya, Kiribati,




Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique,


Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria,


Pakistan, Papua New Guinea,




St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland


Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu,




Vanuatu, Virgin Islands (British)




Candidates Selection For The Commonwealth Scholarships For Developing Countries

The CSC aims to identify talented individuals who have the noumenon to make a change. The body is strictly dedicated to a string of equal opportunity and non-discrimination, and encourage applications from a diverse range of candidates. On this note, priority is therefore given to applications that demonstrate the strongest relevance to development. Applications will be considered according to the following selection criteria:

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • Quality of the plan of study
  • The potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country.


Owing to the tough and highly competitive nature of the Commonwealth Scholarships, getting to a vantage point may be a herculean task. These ways to get the Commonwealth Scholarship should, however, stand your application out:

  • Having a well-represented and thorough research proposal.
  • Making your application as catchy as possible.
  • Ensuring your ideas are well presented and structured. Most importantly, making it very neat.
  • Ensuring any required supporting documents are submitted with your application.

How to Apply For The Commonwealth Scholarships For Developing Countries

Applicants must make their application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS).

Applicants should apply to study at Master’s/ Ph.D. level at a UK university with which the CSC has a part funding agreement.

Part funding agreements are at the discretion of individual universities.

Applicants must apply to one of the following nominating bodies in the first instance, as the CSC does not accept direct applications for these scholarships. These nominating bodies are:

  • National nominating agencies
  • Selected universities/university bodies, which can nominate their own academic staff.
  • Selected non-governmental organizations and charitable bodies

Each nominating body is responsible for its own selection process. You must check with your nominating body for their specific advice and rules for applying, their own eligibility criteria, and their own closing date for applications.

Applicants must make an application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS), in addition to any other application form that you are required to complete by your nominating body.

Applicants must provide the following supporting documentation to be received by the CSC in order for your application to be eligible for consideration

Documents Required For TheCommonwealth Scholarships For Developing Countries

  • References from at least two individuals
  • Transcripts for Ph.D. candidates only.
  • Supporting statement
  • References from at least two individuals.


Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× How can I help you?